First Week of January starts off with a thrill

Two of my digital art pieces were featured at NEMClouds as well as Mobile Monochromes (New Years Showcase). And it’s always a kick to see one of my edited photos bannered on iColorama, my go-to app where I start nearly every artistic journey.

Thanks to The Circle Galley in Annapolis, six to eight of my canvases will be hung late February in their Melange exhibit. And always satisfying to have editors reach out to solicit my work, especially tanka and haiga.

On my dresser there are six  figures made from self-hardening clay. I’m in love with all but one.

On the burner for 2017, I was asked to act as judge for the Ito-en Grand Prize Haiku Contest in English. Thanks to translator/writer Hiroaki Sato for suggesting me. I signed up for a year-long drawing/painting course with Olga Furman, one of my favorite artists. Still working on a mobile art course I started back in 2016–it’s tedious and slow going but if I learn just one technique from every lesson, it’s worth it. I have much to learn about mapping the face and body–it’s teaching me patience.

In one week I will turn seventy. How did this happen? What new adventures are in store?

 

 

Leave a Reply

