Practice Practice Practice

Ever since I was a kid I’ve wanted to draw. For years I thought I had no talent in that area, that drawing was something my brother was gifted in, not me.

In a week I will turn seventy. They say age can bring wisdom and in my case, I have the wisdom to know I wasn’t a born artist, that it’s something I have to practice. One year ago I began taking on-line courses with a number of gifted artists, Ivy Newport being one. My attempts at drawing a face were lame indeed but with a minimum of practice, I can do a decent portrait. But like any skill, drawing takes practice and I have miles to go, to quote Robert Frost.

Drawing for me is painful and frustrating. Learning how to really see is a discipline (vs. focusing so much on how I look).

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

